Ruby Rich Burgar Award For Outstanding Service to College Health and PCCHA

The call for nominations for the Ruby Rich Burgar Award is now closed and will open in the spring.

The Ruby Rich Burgar Award was established in 1977 to recognize individuals with long, continuous, and outstanding service to college health and the Pacific Coast College Health Association. Named for Ruby Rich Burgar, Executive Director of PCCHA from 1977‐1988, this award represents the highest recognition given by the Pacific Coast College Health Association and continues to honor Ms. Burgar who passed away in 1996.  

Eligibility for Nomination   

  • Individual is peer‐nominated. Nominators are encouraged to contact the person they are nominating for additional information that may be helpful in completing the letter of nomination
  • Individual is employed at a PCCHA member institution, or an individual member of ACHA/PCCHA
  • Individual is of good character in keeping with the precepts of the PCCHA
  • Nomination is supported by one additional reference (reference will be contacted by phone or e‐mail)

Past Recipients

1982 Gordon Bergy, University of Washington
1984 Murray DeArmond, University of Arizona
1985 Ray Miller, San Jose State University
1987 Helen Rueda, Fullerton Community College
1988 Allie Nelson, University of Arizona
1989 James Brown, University of California ‐ Berkeley
1991 Donald Char, University of Hawaii
1992 Mary Lou Holland, Highline Community College
1994 Norma Grundy, University of California – Irvine
1995 Betty K. Adams, Washington State University
1996 Robert Petit, University of Oregon
1997 Joyce Meador, University of Arizona
1999 Gary Fredericksen, California Polytechnic University ‐ Pomona
2000 Bill Waid, University of California ‐ Davis
2002 Paula Swinford, University of Southern California
2003 Jean Benthien, Point Loma Nazarene University
2005 Elizabeth Applebee, University of Northern Arizona
2006 Sandy Franz, Portland State University
2007 Joan Rawlins, University of Utah
2018 Cathy Kodama, University of California, Berkeley
2019 Cheryl Hug-English, University of Nevada, Reno

To Complete a Nomination

Please complete Nomination Form [.docx] and email it and requested documents to (subject line: “Ruby Rich Burgar Award”), or mail nominations to:

Brian Davies
c/o Boise State University
UHS Norco Bldg.
1910 University Dr.
Boise, ID 83725