Weiss Writing Prize

The deadline for applications for the 2019-2020 school year has passed.

The Weiss Writing Prize was established in December 2010 to support efforts to promote and improve the quality of mental health care for college students. The prize is supported by the Stephan D. Weiss, PhD Mental Health Fund for Higher Education, which seeks to encourage the development of creative initiatives that will enhance mental health service delivery to students. 

The Weiss Writing Prize will be awarded to the lead author of a pivotal publication in college mental health. American College Health Association institutional or individual members are eligible to apply. The winning article should demonstrate a successful student retention program for those with mental health issues. The program will provide creative, innovative solutions that could be implemented on other campuses. Preference will be given to articles published in the Journal of American College Health.

The next Weiss Writing Prize ($1,500) will be presented during the ACHA 2019 Annual Meeting. 

Weiss Writing Prize Guidelines

Choose a file format:

Past Award Recipients

2019 Weiss Writing Prize Recipient:
Rita DeBate, PhD, MPH, University of South Florida – “The Effects of Stigma on Determinants of Mental Health Help-Seeking Behaviors Among Male College Students: An Application of the Information-Motivation-Behavioral Skills Model”

2015 Weiss Writing Prize Recipient:

M. Dolores Cimini, PhD, University at Albany – “Implementing an Audience-Specific Small-Group Gatekeeper Training Program to Respond to Suicide Risk Among College Students: A Case Study”

2013 Weiss Writing Prize Recipient:
Syracuse University, Susan Pasco, PhD, LCSW-R
Project Title: "The Impact of Experiential Exercises on Communication and Relational Skills in a Suicide Prevention Gatekeeper — Training Program for College Resident Advisors"

2012 Weiss Writing Prize Recipient:
University of St. Thomas, J. Roxanne Prichard, PhD, and Hannah G. Lund, MS
Project Title: "Sleep Patterns and Predictors of Disturbed Sleep in a Large Population of College Students"

2011 Weiss Writing Prize Recipient:
University of Virginia, Russ Federman, PhD, ABPP
Project Title: "Treatment of Bipolar Disorder in the University Student Population"