ACHA Awards   |   Affiliate New Professionals Award   |   Fellows

The call for nominations is now open. To learn more, visit the Nominations Page.


Each year, ACHA honors exemplary members nominated by their peers for exceptional service and commitment to the association and college health.

Congratulations to our 2023 Fellows and award recipients! Click here to view the slate of recipients.

Questions? Contact

ACHA Awards

ACHA Lifetime Achievement Award

This award recognizes individuals who have provided outstanding service to ACHA, and whose professional lives have been dedicated to improving the health of college students.

Edward Hitchcock Award for Outstanding Contributions in College Health

This award commemorates the work of Edward C. Hitchcock, Jr., MD, who founded the first college health service at Amherst College in 1861, and was established in the 1961 Centennial Year of college health. The award honors ACHA members who have made outstanding contributions to advancing the health of all college students.

Ruth E. Boynton Award for Distinguished Service to ACHA

This award is named for Ruth E. Boynton, MD, who was an inspiration and guiding force as ACHA president (1940-41) and treasurer (1961-65), and who directed the University of Minnesota Health Service, which bears her name. The award, established in 1967, honors ACHA members who have provided distinguished service to the association.

E. Dean Lovett Award for Exemplary Contributions to a College Health Program

The E. Dean Lovett Award was created in 1990 to honor E. Dean Lovett, MD, past president of the Pacific Coast College Health Association and former director of the University of Hawaii Health Service. Dr. Lovett was an advocate of nurses in community colleges, small colleges, and university health services. This award, created by the ACHA Nurse-Directed Section, honors ACHA members who have directed or contributed significantly to the development of a college health program in an exemplary manner.

Ollie B. Moten Award for Outstanding Service to One's Institution

This award commemorates the work of Ollie B. Moten, RN, past chair of the Nursing Section of ACHA and former director of the Student Health Center at Texas Southern University in Houston. This award, established in 1982, honors ACHA members who have made a significant impact on the institution of higher education in which they work, regardless of whether the individuals have been active beyond their institutions.

Miguel García-Tuñón Memorial Award in Human Dignity

This award was established in 1989 to memorialize Miguel García-Tuñón, coordinator of the ACHA/CDC Seroprevalence Project from April 1988 - October 1989, and whose life and work exemplified dignity and integrity. This award honors ACHA members whose work, life, writing, research, or way of living have promoted the cause of human dignity and nurtured the appreciation of human differences.

Hannibal E. Howell, Jr. Award for Promoting Diversity in College Health

This award was created in 1998 to honor Hannibal E. Howell, Jr., MD, who has been involved with leading the association to increase its efforts toward inclusiveness and addressing ethnic minority concerns since he became director of Hampton University Health Center in 1960. This award honors ACHA members who have made outstanding proactive contributions to their campus communities or ACHA by promoting health care and preventive health relevant to ethnic minorities.

Lewis Barbato Award for Outstanding Student Service

This award, created in 1977, is named in honor of ACHA Past President and Fellow Lewis Barbato, MD, former director of the University of Denver Health Service. The Lewis Barbato Award honors students (ACHA members or nonmembers) who have made major contributions to college health as reflected in the association's mission and vision statements.

Clifford B. Reifler Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Journal of American College Health

This award was created in 1998 to honor Clifford B. Reifler, MD, MPH, who was former executive editor emeritus of the Journal of American College Health, former director of the University of Rochester Health Service, and past president of ACHA. This award honors ACHA members and nonmembers who have made outstanding contributions to the Journal of American College Health.

Evelyn Wiener Mentoring Award

This award pays tribute to the mentorship that Evelyn Wiener, MD, provided to her staff, colleagues, regional, and national associates. She was director of the University of Pennsylvania health service and held numerous positions locally and nationally, including Mid-Atlantic College Health Association president, committee chair, Annual Meeting Program Planning chair, Fellow, and Region IV Representative. This award recognizes individuals who have made significant efforts in providing counsel, support, and professional opportunities to others either in their institution, their regional affiliate, or ACHA.

Best Practices in College Health Award

This award recognizes exemplary, innovative, and inspirational practices in one of four major areas of college health: (1) clinical services, (2) counseling services, (3) administrative and consumer services, and (4) health education and promotion services. Up to four awards will be presented each year to a student health center(s) that demonstrates program and/or services excellence. More than one recipient is allowed in a category. Nominated programs must be implemented at an ACHA member institution, or have an individual member of ACHA directly involved with the creation and/or implementation of the program. Programs will be evaluated on innovation and uniqueness. The description of the program should include the number of students the program has impacted and what percent of the targeted population this is. Data is to be presented on the outcome and effectiveness of the program. (Adapted from the Pacific Coast College Health Association's Golden Gull Awards for Best Practices in College Health.)

Affiliate New Professionals Award

Presented for the first time in 2002, this award recognizes ACHA members who have provided service to the field of college health for five years or less and who have made significant contributions to their institutions and/or affiliate.


ACHA Fellows, first recognized in 1967, are members who have given outstanding service to the association and have demonstrated superior professional stature and performance in the college health field.